Life and Fun · Noms

Restaurant Review–Piada!

Hello hello everyone! Back again with a new kind of nom post! (Let’s be honest… they’re mostly nom posts because YUM!) I’ve been thinking a lot lately about starting restaurant reviews on here because it’s something I do anyway so why not share? The rating system for restaurants will be as follows:

🌮- I will not be returning to this place. 

🌮🌮- It was ok- nothing mind blowing

🌮🌮🌮- I liked it… but probably wouldn’t go back anytime soon/order that same thing. 

🌮🌮🌮🌮- This place was pretty bangin. 

🌮🌮🌮🌮🌮- I want to have this foods baby. 

Let me preface this review with a little background. Lately, anywhere I go I am super disappointed for the food. I build it up so much that it will be SOOO awesome and when I actually eat I’m super disappointed. So, needless to say, I’ve been going in to places with an open mind and hoping the food is delicious. Now let’s chat about Piada.Piada is an Italian Street Food restaurant in Pittsburgh (Oakland-on Pitt’s campus) and I’ve heard nothing but good things about them. So when we decided to go to lunch yesterday, I was all about it. 

Let’s chat about the food. I got a Crispy Chicken BLT Tasca (meal) which the website describes as follows:

Layered sandwich with crispy buttermilk fried chicken, creamy parmesan, spicy balsamic aioli, bruschetta tomatoes, pancetta, arugula, sweet & spicy pickles. 

Now, the thing that makes Piada unique is that they use tortillas instead of bread. It’s almost like an Italian Chipotle. This “sandwich” was actually very tasty and I would totally order it again. I did get a meal which included either soup or corn salad and I thought corn salad sounded weeeeird so I got the soup. I made the wrong choice.  The soup was tomato basil which I normally loooove. But this tomato soup was SO SALTY. It was like eating a bowl of salt. No tomato. No basil. Just salty creamy water. I had only a few spoonfuls of that before I threw in the towel and decided against eating any more. Mike however, got the corn salad which was 100% delightful. It was a grilled corn salad with tomatoes and basil. Next time, I’ll definitely get that. Also included in the meal deal is a fountain drink and they had some interesting alternative options to the average fountain drinks. Italian sodas are available and I had the berry one. It was delicious. Not too sweet and lightly flavored. 

There are other factors in the reviews for these places. Price and atmosphere are always something you want to know about. For my meal deal, it was $9.99. A little pricey for that soup(if we can even call it that!) and essentially a BLT wrap, but still ok overall. The atmosphere was pretty cool since it’s on a college campus they made it very appealing to the eye. Their menu isn’t very huge, but if you’ve got a hankering for Italian street food in Pittsburgh, I’d say give it a try- just not the soup! 

Overall, this place was pretty good and I would probably go back. So 🌮🌮🌮 for you, Piada! 
Happy Almost May! Catch ya on the flip side! 

-S

Leave a Reply

